Poot said:
Rules question and I didn't know where to put it…
I was watching Ipswich and Wolves and just now this happened.
Back-pass to Ipswich goalie who whiffed with his foot. He turned around and dove back to save the goal knocking it away with his hand.
Wolves got a free kick inside the 6 yard box instead of a penalty. Why is that not treated like every other handball inside the box resulting in a penalty? I'm not a soccer lifer, so that one is new on me.
Short version? The guys who wear the oven mits are gifted with special powers.
Long version? Inside the penalty area a GK cannot commit handling or dogso handling. Any illegal touch (back pass or a direct throw) is by law an indirect kick.